Main      Photographs    Poetry    Articles   Travels     Trails     Music     Readings    




Pike Peak Hill Climb, Pikes Peak, Colorado  

 Colorado Springs, Colorado 

Other Trails on this Route:

Barr Camp Trail

Elk Springs Trail

Oil Springs Tunnel Trail

Pikes Peak Hill Climb




Paul "Wally" Dallenbach, open wheel winner, at approximately 110 mph.





Pikes Peak International Hill Climb


The Pikes Peak International Hill Climb (PPIHC), also known as the The Race to the Clouds, is an annual automobile and motorcycle hillclimb to the summit of Pikes Peak in Colorado, a distance of 19.99 km (12.42 miles) over 156 turns, climbing 1,439 meters (4,721 ft) from the start at Mile 7 on Pikes Peak Highway at 2,862 meters (9,390 ft) on grades averaging 7% over both gravel and paved sections.

The race has taken place since 1916. The second oldest race in the United States behind only the Indy 500.

The first running of the Pikes Peak Hill Climb was promoted by Spencer Penrose. Penrose had finished widening the narrow carriage road into a much wider "Pikes Peak Highway." He decided to encourage tourist to visit by creating a race to the clouds.

On average there are 150 competitors. The oldest current class is the Open Wheel division which has been run since 1916 and has been won by such names as Mario Andretti, Al Unser, Bobby Unser, and Robby Unser (the current class record holder, achieving 10:05.85 min in 1994). The overall record is held by Nobuhiro "Monster" Tajima from Japan who clocked a time of 10:01.408 on July 21st 2007 driving the 1000 hp mid-engined Suzuki XL7 Hill Climb Special, breaking the previous record (set in 1994 by Rod Millen) by less than three seconds. The winning time in 1916 was 20:55.40, set by Rea Lentz.


Fastest Car Ever on the Peak:  

The "Monster" at approximately 130 mph.









Drop offs to the east of the roadway


In the corner










12,000 feet 



Dinwiddie sidecar

Laney Truck Heads for Top



my Links



(c) Copyright 2006-8 Action Matrix, Inc.                   E-mail  Matrix at